BBM-Sara tandem includes Honasan in senatorial slate

Former Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) Secretary Gringo Honasan has been named as the 11th member of the senatorial slate of presidential aspirant Ferdinand ‘Bongbong’ Marcos Jr. and his running mate, Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte.

In a statement Friday, the camp of Marcos announced that it has adopted the veteran legislator to be part of its senatorial lineup for the May 2022 polls.

“We are pleased that he is now part of our senatorial slate. We believe that Sen. Gringo will accomplish a lot in the Senate, coming up with laws that will help ensure better lives for our countrymen,” said the former senator, the standard-bearer of Partido Federal ng Pilipinas (PFP).

Honasan, a graduate of the Philippine Military Academy, served as a military officer before he entered politics in 1995 when he won a seat in the Senate. He served as senator from 1995 to 2004 and from 2007 to 2019.

In his tenure at the Senate, Honasan authored and co-authored the Clean Air Act of 1999, Clean Water Act, the National Security Policy, Disaster Risk Reduction Management Act of 2009, the Solid Waste Management Act of 2000, and the Comprehensive Agrarian Reform Program Extension with Reforms Law (CARPER), among others. He also chaired significant committees in the Upper Chamber, such as the Committee on National Defense and Security, and Peace, Unification, and Reconciliation.

President Rodrigo Duterte appointed him as head of the DICT after his term ended in 2019.

The UniTeam’s other senatorial bets are Senators Sherwin Gatchalian and Juan Miguel Zubiri, former Defense secretary Gilbert Teodoro, former Public Works and Highways secretary Mark Villar, former Palace spokesperson Harry Roque, Rep. Loren Legarda, former senator Jinggoy Estrada, Rep. Rodante Marcoleta, former Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista and lawyer Larry Gadon.

Honasan’s Reform Party has named Marcos and Duterte as its presidential and vice-presidential candidates, respectively, in the May elections.

Source: Philippines News Agency

Related posts