Sueno fetes outstanding firemen, fire stations

Eleven fire officers of the Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) were recognized by Interior and Local Government Secretary Ismael "Mike" Sueno for their "commendable deeds in the performance of their duty" during the 25th anniversary of the BFP.

Leading the awardees are BFP Region 4A Director Sr. Supt. Sergio M. Soriano who received the Medalya ng Kagalingan for shepherding his team in suppressing the fire at a liquefied petroleum gas storage facility in the coastal town of Calaca in Batangas.

The fire incident, which reached General Alarm status, involved four burning LPG storage tanks with a capacity of 2,000 metric tons and with chemical composition of butane and propane gas. The fire became under control on the second day, and fire out was declared on the 12th day with no casualty reported. The firefighters simply decided to allow the residual gas in the tanks to safely and gradually burn off.

The other awardees are: SInsp. Mariano Taguiam, Insp. Ma. Lourdes D. Ballo, SFO3 Johnson O. De Vera and FO1 Mark Steve Mendoza (Medalya ng Kadakilaan); SF04 George F. Calosa, SFO2 Marlon D. Colobong and SFO4 Danilo E. Capito (Medalya ng Pagtulong sa Nasalanta); SFO4 Elmer Valientes and FO1 Christopher Fami (Medalya ng Sugatang Magiting); and SFO3 Andres M. Lipao, Jr. (Medalya ng Katapatan sa Paglilingkod).

Declared as Best Regional Offices of the year are: BFP Region 3, Region 4a and Region 8; Best District/Provincial Offices are Cavite , Nueva Ecija and Manila; Best City Fire Stations of the Year are Bacoor City , Batangas City and San Fernando City; and Best Municipal Fire Stations of the Year are Pateros, Gimaca and Tuba Fire Stations.

Speaking at the Silver Anniversary of the BFP, with the theme "25 Years of Commitment towards A Fire Safety Community" at the Armed Forces of the Philippines Commissioned Officers Club (AFPCOC), in Camp Aguinaldo, Quezon City, Sueno acknowledged the efforts of the fire bureau for remaining true to its sworn mission and commitment to protect the Filipino populace from the harmful and damaging effects of conflagrations through the years.

"I am personally extending my heartfelt appreciation to all the awardees for the laudable contribution to the bureau and their dedication to public service," he said.

Sueno also said that the equipment and resources of the fire bureau are continually being procured for the modernization of the agency in order to keep abreast with the challenges in responding to all emergencies.

During the occasion, BFP Officer-in-Charge C/Supt. Rodrigo Abrazaldo said that the BFP will be giving an Anniversary Bonus not exceeding P3,000.00 to each of its personnel. This is authorized under Bureau Circular No. 2016-003 which provides that uniformed and non-uniformed personnel of the BFP may receive an Anniversary Bonus once every five (5) years.

"This move is tantamount to the unwavering and devoted service of our firemen to the public that would continuously boost their moral in performing their mandated duties," Abrazaldo said.

Source: Philippine Information Agency

Related posts