SC reorganizes 3 divisions as Hernando assumes post

MANILAThe Supreme Court (SC), under Acting Chief Justice Antonio Carpio, has reorganized the membership in its three divisions following the entry of its newest member, Associate Justice Ramon Paul Hernando.

The first division is now composed of Associate Justices Lucas P. Bersamin as acting chairman with Associate Justices Mariano C. del Castillo, Francis H. Jardeleza, Noel G. Tijam and Alexander G. Gesmundo as members.

Carpio will sit as chairman of the second division with Associate Justices Estela M. Perlas Bernabe, Alfredo Benjamin S. Caguioa, Andres B. Reyes Jr., and Jose C. Reyes Jr. as members.

Associate Justice Diosdado M. Peralta is the chairman of the third division with Associate Justices Marvic F. Leonen, Gesmundo, Jose C. Reyes Jr., and Hernando as members.

Hernando, a former Court of Appeals justice, was appointed to the High Court by President Rodrigo Duterte last week. He took over the post vacated by then Associate Justice Samuel R. Martires who was appointed as Ombudsman.

Carpio, the most senior magistrate of the High Court, assumed as acting Chief Justice following the retirement of Teresita Leonardo-de Castro last Oct. 10.

Source: Philippine News Agency

Related posts