Residents told to prepare as ‘Amang’ closes in on Eastern Visayas

MANILA MalacaAang on Monday urged the public to brace for Tropical Depression Amang, which is now heading towards the Leyte-Samar area, according to weather forecasts.

Presidential Spokesperson Salvador Panelo asked the public, especially those expected to be affected, to stay safe by coordinating with local government agencies and monitoring weather advisories.

We ask the public, especially residents who will be affected, to stay vigilant, monitor the latest weather advisory in their respective areas through government stations and social media accounts, and coordinate with their local disaster and risk reduction management offices for the appropriate and responsive action, Panelo said in a statement.

Panelo, meanwhile, made assurances that concerned government agencies are on standby in preparation for the onslaught of "Amang".

We are closely monitoring Tropical Depression Amang. All concerned disaster-related agencies are now on standby, Panelo said.

Citing the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC), Panelo said a total of 2,678 families (11,153 persons) were preemptively evacuated in the provinces of Albay, Camarines Sur, Masbate, Eastern Samar, Agusan del Norte, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, and Surigao del Sur.

Panelo also said that the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) has already prepositioned a total of 2,500 family food packs (FFPs) amounting to PHP912,750 for those who may need it.

According to the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA), Amang would bring moderate to heavy rains over Eastern and Central Visayas, and the Bicol Region.

As of 11 a.m., Amang has maintained its strength and was last spotted 40 kilometers north northeast of Guiuan, Eastern Samar. It is moving north at 10 kph with maximum sustained winds of 45 kph near the center and gusts of up to 60 kph.

Tropical cyclone warning signal No. 1 is hoisted over Eastern Samar, Samar, Biliran, Leyte, Southern Leyte, Eastern Bohol and Northern Cebu, Surigao del Norte and Dinagat Islands. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency

Related posts