PRRD signs law renaming Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro

MANILA President Rodrigo Duterte has signed a law renaming the province of Compostela Valley as the Province of Davao de Oro.

Duterte signed Republic Act 11297 on April 17, 2019 but a copy of which was released to media on Thursday (May 23).

"The Province of Compostela Valley is hereby renamed as the Province of Davao de Oro," the law read.

The renaming of the province is subject to ratification by a majority of the votes cast by qualified voters in a plebiscite to be conducted in the present province of Compostela Valley, according to the law.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) will be in charge of conducting and supervising the plebiscite.

This law which originated in the House of Representatives was passed by the lower chamber on May 15, 2018, amended by the Senate of the Philippines on December 10, 2018, and which amendments were concurred in by the House of Representatives on January 29, 2019

It will take effect 15 days after its publication in the Official Gazette or in any newspaper of general circulation.

At present, Compostela Valley is the only province in Davao Region which does not bear the name Davao. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency

Related posts