PMAAAI adopts President Duterte as honorary member

MANILA-- The Philippine Military Academy Alumni Association, Inc. (PMAAAI) has adopted President Rodrigo Roa Duterte as an honorary member.

This was confirmed on Tuesday by PMAAAI chair (retired) Philippine National Police (PNP) Deputy Director General Anselmo Avenido Jr.

"(President) Duterte is an adopted member of PMA Class 1967 and during the parade, he will be formally adopted as an honorary member of the entire PMAAAI," Avenido said in an ambush interview in Camp Crame, Quezon City.

The parade will be held on Saturday (Feb. 18) at the PMA grounds in Fort del Pilar, Baguio City.

"During the parade, we will have the formal awarding of the 12 Cavalier Awardees for the Year," Avenido said.

The 12 awardees will be representing the 12 different categories ranging from command administration, to staff supervision to best in service operations.

"We also have awardees for public administration, business enterprise, special field, and contribution to alumni affairs," Avenido said.

"We will also formally present to the President the manifesto of support of the association to his administration," he added.

Avenido noted that it is the tradition of the PMAAAI that whenever there is a new president, "we invite him to talk to the alumni and this is a very good chance for him to give his guidance to us cavaliers, the PMAers."

"We are fully behind him (Duterte) in his efforts to maintain peace and order in the country and his efforts towards the developments of the country," he said.

"So on Feb. 18, we will formally present to him his certificate of membership," he added.

The PMAAAI has previously adopted former Presidents Ferdinand Marcos and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo; former Prime Minister Cesar Virata; former Vice President Jejomar Binay; former House Speakers Ramon Mitra and Manny Villar; former Chief Justice Reynato Puno; former Senators Robert Barbers, Juan Ponce Enrile, Ramon Magsaysay Jr., Orlando Mercado, Alberto Romulo, Manuel "Mar" Roxas II, Miriam Defensor Santiago; Secretaries Carlos Romulo and Gilbert Teodoro; Washington Sycip; and Max Soliven. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency

Related posts