PH accedes to Apostille Convention

MANILA -- The Philippine government acceded to an international convention that allows the country to issue a security certificate called "Apostille", which simplifies the authentication of public documents to be used abroad.

The Apostille Convention cuts down the procedure for the processing and use of foreign public documents, which helps facilitate cross-border trade, investment and personal relations," Foreign Affairs Secretary Alan Peter Cayetano said Saturday.

An Apostille can only be issued for papers originating from a nation party to the Apostille Convention, which will be used in another state that is also party to the Convention.

On Sept. 12, the Philippine Embassy in The Netherlands deposited the instrument of accession to the Apostille Convention in ceremonies at the headquarters of the Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH).

The convention will enter into force between the Philippines and other state parties on May 14, 2019.

"This is particularly beneficial for the millions of Filipinos abroad who need to use and present public documents from the Philippines in their country of destination, Cayetano said.

Once a public document is apostillized by the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), it does note need further authentication by the Philippine embassy and the Foreign Ministry where the document will be presented.

Likewise, foreign public documents from Apostille Convention state parties need not be authenticated abroad by Philippine embassies and consulates.

The DFA Office of Consular Affairs will be the competent authority responsible for the implementation of the Apostille Convention. According to the department, the Supreme Court will also play an important role since the accession would require the amendment of certain provisions of the Rules of Court pertaining to the use of foreign public documents.

Ambassador to The Hague Jaime Victor Ledda handed the instrument of accession to Coos 't Hoen, head of the Treaties Division, Legal Affairs Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of The Netherlands, which acts as the treaty depository of the Apostille Convention.

The ceremony was attended by Philippine Supreme Court Associate Justices Marvic Mario Victor Leonen, Alexander Gesmundo and Noel Tijam. Also present were DFA Assistant Secretary for Legal Affairs Eduardo Malaya III and Foreign Affairs Assistant Secretary for Consular Affairs Neil Frank Ferrer. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency

Related posts