OCD: No damage in Leyte provinces due to Surigao quake

TACLOBAN CITY-- The 6.7-magnitude earthquake that struck Surigao City has not affected nearby Leyte and Southern Leyte provinces, the Office of the Civil Defense (OCD) reported Saturday.

OCD regional director, Edgar Posadas, said the same intensity was felt in Panaon Island and some parts of Southern Leyte, but the region has so far had no casualty and no damage to properties when it struck at 10:03 p.m. on Friday.

"We monitored the situation in Panaon Island because it's just a one-hour boat ride from Surigao, but according to reports of the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office, there are no reports of damages in the four towns," Posadas said.

Panaon Island, which lies south of Leyte, is composed of the towns of Liloan, San Francisco, Pintuyan, and San Ricardo.

The tremor, which was tectonic in origin, hit at a depth of 4 km. at about 10:03 p.m., according to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs).

In Eastern Visayas, the quake's reported magnitude was Intensity 6 in Pintuyan, Southern Leyte; Intensity 5 in San Ricardo, Limasawa, and San Francisco, Southern Leyte; Intensity 4 in Hinunangan and San Juan in Southern Leyte, Abuyog and Mayorga in Leyte; Intensity 3 in Ormoc City, Palo, Pastrana, Tolosa, and Tacloban City in Leyte; and Intensity 2 in Capoocan, Leyte. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency

Related posts