NCRPO orders security preps for Metro mayors’ oath-taking

MANILA The National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) on Thursday ordered its district commanders to ensure adequate security preparations for the oath-taking ceremonies of newly-elected local chief executives in Metro Manila.

The five districts covered by the NCRPO are the Manila Police District (MPD), Quezon City Police District (QCPD), Northern Police District (NPD), Southern Police District (SPD), and Eastern Police District (EPD).

In a phone interview with the Philippine News Agency, Maj. Gen. Guillermo Eleazar, NCRPO head, said a minimum of 90 police officers and personnel will be deployed to secure the oath-taking rites in each city.

Eleazar said this will be done to ensure that no untoward incident would mar the oath-taking rites in the different cities starting Friday until Sunday.

This year's elections in Metro Manila saw a mix of old names and newcomers taking the helm of various cities.

In Manila, former vice mayor Isko Moreno won against incumbent Mayor and former President Joseph Estrada.

In Taguig, TV director Lino Cayetano was proclaimed mayor-elect after garnering 170,809 votes, beating Taguig-Pateros Rep. Arnel Cerafica who only obtained 108,050 votes.

In Pasig, Councilor Victor "Vico" Sotto snatched the mayoral post from incumbent Robert Eusebio, ending the Eusebio clan's 27-year reign in the city.

Meanwhile, incumbent Vice Mayor Joy Belmonte was proclaimed as mayor-elect of Quezon City, defeating 1st District Rep. Vincent "Bingbong" Crisologo.

In San Juan, former vice mayor Francis Zamora has put an end to the five-decade rule of the Estradas in the city, defeating Janella Ejercito-Estrada, daughter of senatorial candidate Jinggoy Estrada.

Meanwhile, Abby Binay is set to serve her second term as Makati mayor after beating her brother Junjun while Imelda Calixto-Rubiano won as mayor of Pasay City.

Other incumbent city mayoral candidates who also maintained their posts are Jaime Fresnedi in Muntinlupa, Rex Gatchalian in Valenzuela, Antolin Oreta in Malabon, Imelda Aguilar in Las PiAas and Carmelita Abalos in Mandaluyong. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency

Related posts