MalacaAang releases list of 2019 holidays

MANILA MalacaAang on Thursday released the list of regular holidays and special non-working holidays for 2019.

President Rodrigo Duterte signed Proclamation No. 555 on Aug. 15, which also includes November 2 (Saturday) and December 24 (Tuesday) as two additional non-working days throughout the country.

The two dates have been added to strengthen family ties by providing more time for the traditional All Saint's Day, All Soul's Day and Christmas Day commemorative activities, and will promote domestic tourism as well.

The 2019 regular holidays include: January 1 (Tuesday) New Year's Day; April 9 (Tuesday) Araw ng Kagitingan; April 18 Maunday Thursday; April 19 Good Friday; May 1 (Wednesday) Labor Day; June 12 (Wednesday) Independence Day; August 26 (last Monday of August) National Heroes Day; November 30 (Saturday) Bonifacio Day; December 25 (Wednesday) Christmas Day; and, December 30 (Monday) Rizal Day.

Special non-working days, on the other hand, are February 5 (Tuesday) Chinese New Year; February 25 (Monday) �EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary; April 20 Black Saturday; August 21 (Wednesday) Ninoy Aquino Day; November 1 (Friday) All Saint's Day; December 8 (Sunday) Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary; and, December 31 (Tuesday) Last Day of the Year.

The proclamation declaring national holidays for the observance of Eidul Fitr and Eidul Adha, two major feasts of Islam, will be issued after the dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra).

To this end, the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos (NCMF) shall inform the Office of the President of the actual dates on which these holidays shall respectively fall, the proclamation stated. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency

Related posts