List of flag bearers for nations in the Rio Olympics 2016 opening ceremony

Rio Olympics 2016, the most awaited sporting event in the world, will begin with an official opening ceremony at the Marcana Stadium on Friday. The world will watch top athletes go head-to-head in various sporting competitions for over two weeks. The quadrennial event starts on Aug. 5, and will end on Aug. 21.

But before these athletes give it their all in their respective sporting events, they will participate in what is expected to be an interesting Rio Olympics opening ceremony. Like in other Olympics, the ceremony is set to entertain the audience world over with some grand spectacles.

Athletes from 207 countries will be present for a parade at the stadium, waving their hands to the spectators, who will be thrilled to see 11,000-odd sportspersons during the Games in Rio. The most visible of them will, of course, be the flag bearers in each contingent, who will lead the fellow participants from their country. All athletes dream of this occasion, which is considered a major highlight in their career.

Well-known sports personalities such as Abhinav Bindra (India), Michael Phelps (United States) and Andy Murray (Great Britain) are among those who will carry the national flag of their country in Rio.

Source: International Business Times

Related posts