KBP thanks Duterte for creating PTFoMS

MANILA � The Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP) has expressed appreciation to President Rodrigo Roa Duterte for creating the Presidential Task Force on Media Security (PTFoMS).

The country's broadcast media group, through its president Hernan BasbaAo, conveyed their gratitude in a dinner the President hosted for them in MalacaAang on August 14.

KBP officials present include chairman Ruperto Nicdao, vice chairman Butch Canoy, executive vice president Francis Cardona, vice president for television Roberto Barreiro, vice president for radio Noel Galvez, corporate secretary Joselito Yabut and KBP directors Atom Henares and Erwin Galang.

Duterte dedicated his first administrative order for the establishment of PTFoMS to address the media killings and other media-related cases in the country.

He signed Administrative Order No. 1 on October 11, 2016, four months after he took his oath as the country's 16th President.

PTFoMS is co-chaired by Department of Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra and Presidential Communications Operations Office Secretary Martin Andanar while former media practitioner Joel Egco has been designated as its executive director.

In his speech, Duterte appealed to the broadcast media to promote public awareness vital issues that would touch the lives of every Filipino.

As we create an environment for our people to enjoy their freedom and cherish the gifts of democracy, I ask our friends from the broadcast media to continue helping the government in stimulating public awareness on vital issues that can touch the lives of ordinary Filipinos so that we can, in turn, help one another in collectively improving their lot in life, Duterte said in his speech.

Organized in 1973, the KBP represents the interest of the broadcast media in advancing the cause of a free and responsible broadcast media.

It has now 120 member networks composed of 800 radio and television stations nationwide. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency

Related posts