JBC shortlists CA magistrates for SC vacancy

MANILA Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra confirmed on Friday the results of the Judicial and Bar Council's (JBC) vote on the shortlist of candidates for the vacant associate justice post at the Supreme Court.

Obtaining the highest votes of six each were Court of Appeals (CA) associate justices Manuel Barrios, Japar Dimaampao, Ramon Garcia, Ed De Los Santos, Apolinario Bruselas, and Amy Lazaro-Javier.

CA Associate Justice Rosmari Carandang obtained five votes. The names have been forwarded to MalacaAang.

Twelve applicants had filed for the post vacated by Chief Justice Teresita Leonardo-De Castro. Aside from the vacancy left by Maria Lourdes Sereno, there will also be another vacancy next January, when Associate Justice Noel Tijam reaches mandatory retirement age.

There are 20 applicants for the vacancy to be left by Tijam.

The JBC screens and vets nominees for vacant posts in the judiciary, Offices of the Ombudsman and Deputy Ombudsman before these are submitted to the President.

It is chaired by Acting Chief Justice Antonio Carpio, with ex-officio members Senator Richard Gordon, Oriental Mindoro Rep. Salvador Leachon, and Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra.

Retired SC Justice Joe Catral-Mendoza is the head of the Executive Committee, with Milagros Fernan-Cayosa, representing the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP), and retired Judge Toribio Ilao, representing the private sector, as the other regular members of the JBC. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency

Related posts