DSWD salutes winners, finalists of Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities

Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Secretary Judy M. Taguiwalo helped Malacanang lead two events: the presentation of the Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities (PACFMC) and the signing of the Implementing Rules and Regulations of Republic Act ( RA) 10868, otherwise known as the Centenarian Act of 2016.

Sec. Taguiwalo emphasized the importance of the two events as a milestone in the individual and collective efforts of many different individuals, families, agencies and organizations who work to protect the welfare of the members of two of the most vulnerable sectors in Philippine society.

She explained that the PACFMC is the government's effort to recognize the collective efforts of people in the local government units (LGUs) who selflessly and tirelessly work to promote children's rights.

"Their individual and organizational contributions, big or small, form part of these initiatives and achievements to make our country a better place for our children. The awardees and finalists of the PACFMC all have done their best to provide Filipino children with quality and effective programs and services. We want their efforts to be sustained and replicated not just for our children's welfare, but for those also of other marginalized and vulnerable groups and families that need our support and service," she said.

Sec. Taguiwalo said that the recognition from Malacanang should serve as a reminder for everyone that much still has to be done for Filipino children.

"Many of them do not still fully enjoy basic rights such as the rights to education, food and shelter. The task is certainly daunting. But with our collective commitment and hard work, we can achieve more milestones to celebrate in the future. We can reach out to many more of our children. We can all help build a better future for them," she said.

She also thanked the Council for the Welfare of Children (CWC) for taking the lead in giving recognition to child-friendly LGUs and providing them with technical support and assistance. She also thanked the LGUs for their efforts to improve the quality of services and initiatives for children's welfare and development.

Here is the list of the five National Awardees of the Presidential Award for the Most Child Friendly Municipalities and Cities.

1. 1st to 3rd Class Municipality Category - Buenavista, Guimaras - delegation to be led by Mayor Eugenio G. Reyes

2. 4th to 6th Class Municipality Category - Dumalneg, Ilocos Norte - delegation to be led by Mayor Lairvee Garvida

3. Component City Category - Ilagan City - delegation to be led by Mayor Evelyn C. Diaz

4. Independent Component City Category - Santiago City - delegation to be led by Mayor Engr. Joseph Tan

5. Highly Urbanized City Category - Davao City - delegation to be led by Atty. Lawrence D. Bantiding to represent Mayor Sarah Duterte.

Source: Philippine Information Agency

Related posts