BOC sets schedule for the re-exportation of the 51 containers of garbage from South Korea

On December 27-28, 2018, upon the instructions of Commissioner Guerrero to Customs Officials to expedite the re-export of garbage that was imported into the country, a bilateral meeting was held between the Korean Government representatives and the Philippine Bureau of Customs at the Mindanao Container Terminal Sub-port, Tagoloan, Misamis Oriental.

The Korean Government were represented by Mr. Lee Jong Min, Assistant Director, Environmental Management, Mr. Yeo Jae Gap, Representative Director, Hyunambicis Corporation, Mr. Han Hee Chang, Director, Korean Environment Corporation, Mr. Kim Young Gi, Director, Korea Environment Corporation.

The Philippine Bureau of Customs was led by Atty. Floro Calixihan, Jr,, District Collector, Port of Cagayan de Oro, together with Coll. John P. Simon, Port Collector, Mindanao Container Terminal Sub-port, Atty. Roswald Joseph J. Pague, Acting Deputy Collector for Administration/ Chief, Law Division, IO1 Joel C. Pinawin, Supervisor, CIIS, Oliver Valiente, Asst. Supervisor, CIIS, Bellarmine Valencia, Chief, Export Section, Sarip B. Marohomsalic, Chief, cargo Control Section, SAI, Roberto Montealegre, Sector Commander, ESS, SAII Pedro A. Amante, Jr.,IV, Admin Officer, ESS, Gladdys Faye Neri-Mamac, Secretariat, and Michael B. Intong, MISTG Site Manager.

During the meeting, the Korean Government representatives expressed their full cooperation and support in the RE-Exportation of the imported garbage and agreed to shoulder the shipping cost of $47,430 without the arrastre and demurrage charges.

It was agreed that the Re-Exportation of the 51 containers of garbage will be done on January 9, 2019 and the bulk shipment consisting of 5, 197.91 tons of waste garbage will be re-exported on or before January 30, 2019.

We welcome this positive development and thank our counterpart in their swift response to our demand for the re-exportation of this shipment of garbage. I commend the Bureau personnel for their immediate action upon my instructions. But anybody found to have aided in the commission of this act will be dealt with severely said Customs Commissioner Guerrero.

Also present at the meeting were Atty. Franklin Quijano, PIA Administrator, Atty. Leizl J. Suico-Gusay, Gerry Guuillo, Dax Para, Divina Lagdamen, Efledo Resma of Phividec Industrial Authority (PIA), Atty. Gemma Gloria, and Ysmer Upao of the MICTSI, Ezel Ragandang and Cyril Galacio of Sealand-Maersk Shipping Lines, Merlyn Venci of CCBI-CDO Chapter, Manny Calonzo and Ailen Lucero of Ecowaste Coalition, Hon. Gerardo Boboy Sabal, Provincial Board Member, Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Misamis Oriental, Dr. Ignacio Factura, Chairman, Committee on Health and Engr. Felipe Valdehueza, Chairman, Committee on Environment of the LGU-Tagoloan, Misamis Oriental, Engr. Christopher Mabaylan, Engineer II, Raedwulf Geollegue, Chief, Air and water Quality Management Section, Eldemero Guchoco, Chief, Hazardous Waste Management Section and Farhana A. Pananggilaan, of the Environment and Management Bureau of DENR, Regional Office-10.

Source: Bureau of Custom (News)

Related posts