Bato bats for cops, troops tactical unit interoperability, upgrade

MANILA The police and the military's tactical response units will continue to train and compete together to develop unit interoperability and cohesion, Philippine National Police (PNP) Director General Ronald dela Rosa said Monday.

Dela Rosa made the announcement during Monday's awarding of prizes to the winners of the First National SWAT Challenge.

"It was a showcase of skill, strength, stamina, stealth of the best of the best of the PNP and the armed forces of the Philippines," the PNP chief said during the flag raising ceremony in Camp Crame.

"We want to enhance more the interoperability, the cohesiveness, the esprit de corps and camaraderie among our elite tactical units from the PNP, AFP and other law enforcement agencies, that is why we will have a second national SWAT challenge in September," he added.

The goal, dela Rosa said, is to upgrade the skills of all tactical units regardless of their affiliation.

The next competition may be held either in Tarlac, Lipa or Davao, the venue of the original competition.

The PNP Special Action Force (SAF) Team 2 dominated the competition and emerged as over-all champions. SAF Team 2 also topped the PNP category of the competition,followed by SAF Team 1, the NCRPO RDC 2,QC PNP Team 1, and NCRPO RDC Team 1.

In the military category, the Philippine Air Force Team 2 topped the competition followed by the First Scout Ranger Regiment (FSRR), while the Philippine Air Force Team 1 came in third place.

In the stage category, the Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (CIDG) National led by Police Supt. Edilberto Leonardo topped the first and fourth stages of the challenge; the Office of the Chief PNP Team 1 led by Insp. Daniel Farnican Pumecha Jr. dominated the second stage; the Special Action force (SAF) Team 3 led by Senior Insp. Neil Vistar emerged the best during the third stage; while the fifth stage was won by the NCRPO-RDC 2, led by Senior Insp. Dioscoro Tayab Jr. The sixth stage, meanwhile, was dominated by the FSRR, led by Lt. Col. Wilfredo Martin Jr.

The Office of the Chief PNP, led by Insp. Pumecha Jr., topped the seventh stage of the challenge while the Police Regional office (PRO) 3 Team 2, led by Sr. Insp. Neilmark Retana, topped the eighth and ninth stages.

The Special Action Force (SAF) Team 2, led by Chief. Insp. Samuel Mangetag Jr., topped the 10th stage of the challenge.

The winners received medals, plaques and gear from sponsors.

Source: Philippine News Agency

Related posts