Azerbaijan says Armenia using ammunition prohibited by int’l conventions

Armenian armed forces are using ammunition prohibited by international conventions, the press service of Azerbaijan's Defense Ministry told Trend Apr. 27.

The Armenian side once again violated the agreement on the cessation of military operations on the contact line between Armenian and Azerbaijani troops, said the defense ministry.

The ministry went on to add that Armenian armed forces opened fire at Azerbaijani positions and settlements near the contact line using ammunition prohibited by international conventions.

Armenia by committing acts of sabotage on the contact line is trying to provoke the Azerbaijani side into active hostilities, according to the ministry.

Azerbaijan's defense ministry said that the military and political regime of Armenia bears responsibility for the developments along the contact line.

On the night of April 2, 2016, all the frontier positions of Azerbaijan were subjected to heavy fire from the Armenian side, which used large-caliber weapons, mortars and grenade launchers. The armed clashes resulted in deaths and injuries among the Azerbaijani population. Azerbaijan responded with a counter-attack, which led to liberation of several strategic heights and settlements.

Military operations were stopped on the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian armies on Apr. 5 at 12:00 (UTC/GMT + 4 hours) with the consent of the sides, Azerbaijan's Defense Ministry earlier said. Ignoring the agreement, the Armenian side again started violating the ceasefire.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations. Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.

Source: Trend

Related posts