Armenia violates ceasefire with Azerbaijan over 110 times

Armenian armed forces have 112 times violated the ceasefire with Azerbaijan on the line of contact over the past 24 hours, said Azerbaijan's Defense Ministry May 2.

Armenian military was using 60-millimeter mortars and large-caliber machine guns.

Armenian armed forces stationed in the village of Berkaber of Armenia's Ijevan district and the villages of Voskevan and Shavarshavan of the Noyemberyan district, opened fire at the Azerbaijani positions located in the villages of Qizilhajili, Qushchu Ayrim and Farahli of the Gazakh district.

Meanwhile, Azerbaijani positions located on nameless heights of Gadabay district were fired at from the positions located on nameless heights of Armenia's Krasnoselsk district.

Armenian army also opened fire from the positions near Chilaburt, Yarimja, Goyarkh villages of the Terter district, Shikhlar, Javahirli, Sarijali, Kangarli, Novruzlu, Shuraabad, Qaraqashli, Merzili, Yusifjanli of the Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of the Khojavand district, Garakhanbeyli, Horadiz, Gorgan, Ashagi Veyselli, Ashagi Seyidahmadli villages of the Fizuli district, and Mehdili village of the Jabrayil district.

Armenians also opened fire upon the Azerbaijani positions from the nameless heights in the Goygol, Goranboy, Khojavand, Fizuli and Jabrayil districts.

Azerbaijani armed forces inflicted 114 strikes upon Armenian positions.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.

Source: Trend

Related posts