Armenia continues to violate ceasefire with Azerbaijan

Armenian armed forces have 130 times violated the ceasefire with Azerbaijan on the line of contact over the past 24 hours, said Azerbaijan's Defense Ministry May 12.

Armenian armed forces stationed on nameless heights in the villages of Berkaber and Paravakar of Armenia's Ijevan district opened fire at the Azerbaijani positions located in the villages of Gizilhajili of the Gazakh district, Kohnegishlag of Agstafa district and in the nameless heights.

Azerbaijani positions in the villages of Alibayli, Munjuglu and Agbulaq of the Tovuz district were shelled from the village of Mosesgeh, Chinari, Aygedzor of Armenia's Berd district.

Azerbaijani army positions located on nameless heights in Azerbaijan's Gadabay district were also shelled by the Armenian side stationed on nameless heights in Armenia's Krasnoselsk district.

Armenian army also violated ceasefire from the positions near Chilaburt, Goyarkh villages of the Terter district, Shikhlar, Sarijali, Kangarli, Novruzlu, Namirli, Garagashli, Marzili, Yusifjanli villages of the Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of the Khojavand district, Garakhanbeyli, Horadiz, Gorgan villages of the Fizuli district and Mehdili village of the Jabrayil district.

Further on, Azerbaijani positions were shelled from the nameless heights in the Goygol, Goranboy, Khojavand, Fizuli and Jabrayil districts.

Azerbaijani armed forces inflicted 136 strikes upon Armenian positions.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. As a result of the ensuing war, in 1992 Armenian armed forces occupied 20 percent of Azerbaijan, including the Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts. The 1994 ceasefire agreement was followed by peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented four UN Security Council resolutions on withdrawal of its armed forces from the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding districts.

Source: Trend

Related posts