Albayalde inspects security preps for 2nd BOL polls

MANILA Source: BERNAMA (News AgencyPhilippine National Police (PNP) chief Director General Oscar Albayalde is now in North Cotabato to inspect security preparations for the second Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) set on Wednesday.

The Chief, PNP PDG Oscar Albayalde and TDCO/Task Force Commander Police Deputy Director General Archie Gamboa are now inspecting our final deployments in North Cotabato where a final briefing will be held today (Tuesday) on security preparations for North Cotabato and Lanao Norte to be attended by Comelec, PNP and AFP officials and other stakeholders, PNP spokesperson Senior Supt. Bernard Banac said in a message sent to reporters Tuesday.

The country's top cop will also visit some voting centers on Wednesday to ensure that the plebiscite runs smoothly and safely.

"All RDs (regional directors) of neighboring Police Regional Offices have been directed to provide strong border controls and checkpoints to ensure that no spoilers from other areas will disrupt the plebiscite, Banac added.

Albayalde earlier said 3,209 police personnel will be deployed to secure the 588 polling centers in various areas of the two provinces.

We are ready to assume election duties anew for the Bangsamoro Organic Law plebiscite. We will be using similar operational template applied in the first plebiscite, the PNP chief told reporters in a press briefing on Monday at Camp Crame, Quezon City.

Albayalde said there will be a ceremonial send-off for the 3,209 police officers tasked to perform election duties on Tuesday in Cagayan de Oro City.

The police personnel are expected to be augmented by soldiers and other law enforcement agencies.

Albayalde said Cagayan de Oro City will serve as monitoring and action center for the plebiscite.

Meanwhile, the military has deployed more than 10,000 troops and support units to help secure the BOL plebiscite, alongside the PNP.

The second BOL plebiscite will be held in the province of Lanao del Norte, except Iligan City; the municipalities of Aleosan, Carmen, Kabacan, Midsayap, Pigcawayan, Pikit, and Tulunan in North Cotabato and the 28 barangays to be included in the region.

The first plebiscite for the BOL on January 21 was held in Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu, Maguindanao, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City and Isabela City. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency

Related posts