AFP chief gets his fourth star, 38 others promoted to next rank


MANILA Newly-appointed Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) chief-of-staff Lt. Gen. Carlito Galvez was promoted to full general and given his fourth star during short ceremonies in MalacaAang Tuesday.

Galvez and 38 other senior military officers also took their oath before President Rodrigo Duterte, AFP public affairs office chief Lt. Col. Emmanuel Garcia said Wednesday.

The AFP chief’s fourth star was donned by the Chief Executive assisted by Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana and members of Galvez’s family.

Joining the former in the oath-taking were three newly-promoted three-star generals Lt. Gen. Paul Atal, Central Command head; Lt. Gen. Danilo Pamonag, Southern Luzon Command chief; and Philippine Navy flag-officer-in-command Vice Admiral Robert Empedrad.

Ten two-star generals also took their oaths namely, Major Gen. Restituto Padilla Jr, Deputy Chief of Staff (DCS) for Plans, J5; Major Gen. Fernando Trinidad, DCS for Intelligence, J2; Major Gen. Gilbert Gapay, Commander of the Mechanized Infantry Division; Major Gen. Rene Glen Paje, DCS for Civil Military Operations, J7; Major Gen. Jesus Manangquil Jr., Commander of the 9th Infantry Division; Major Gen. Roseller Murillo, Commander of the 1stInfantry Division; Major Gen. Jose Antonio Carlos Motril, Internal Auditor; Major Gen. Danilo Chad Isleta, Chief of Staff of the Philippine Army; Major Gen. Perfect Rimando Jr, Commander of the 5th Infantry Division; and Major Gen. Gener Del Rosario, PA Inspector General.

Fifteen one-star generals were also in the ceremony. These are Brig. Gen. Joseph Villanueva, Dean of Academics, Philippine Military Academy; Brig. Gen. Byron Calimag, Army Support Command deputy commander; Brig. Gen. Alden Juan Masagca, 5th Infantry Division assistant division commander; Brig. Gen. Oliver Artuz, Special Military Assistant to the President; Brig. Gen. Agane Adriatico, Army Artillery Regiment commander; Brig. Gen. Reynaldo Aquino, AFP Special Operations Command deputy commander; Brig. Gen Luis Vincent Tacderas, AFP Pension and Gratuity Management Center chief; Commodore Toribio Adaci Jr, Fleet-Marine Ready Force head; and Brig. Gen Joselito Serrano, Quartermaster General.

Said one-star rank generals were also joined by newly-promoted Infantry Brigade commanders namely Brig. Gen. Eliezer LosaAes (303rd Infantry Brigade), Brig. Gen. Leopoldo Imbang, Jr., (503rd Infantry Brigade), Brig. Gen. Henry Robinson Jr., (702nd Infantry Brigade), Brig. Gen. Ernesto Torres, Jr., (1003rd Infantry Brigade), Brig. Gen. Roberto Ancan (1002nd Infantry Brigade), and Brig. Gen. Erwin Bernard Neri (1001st Infantry Brigade).

Military reservists Brig. Gen. Herbert Bautista, Brig. Gen. Jose Mier, Brig. Gen. Claro Lozada, Brig. Gen. Florante Isles, Brig. Gen. Joel Sergio, Brig. Gen. Francis Tolentino, Commodore Ramolito Guinoma, Brig. Gen. Rodilyn Manzano, and Brig. Gen. Erik Miguel Espina also joined the oath-taking ceremony. (PNA)

Source: Philippine News Agency