30 new economic zones await Pres. Duterte’s signature


Some 30 new economic zone projects registered under the Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA) await President Rodrigo Duterte's signature, its Director General Charito Plaza said Monday.

Plaza told reporters that the 30 new ecozone projects, now pending in MalacaAang, were up for Special Economic Zones proclamation.

In 2016, PEZA has a total of 419 economic zones, 61 of which were new ecozones approved by the investment promotion agency (IPA) last year. New developments include manufacturing, agro-industrial, and medical tourism economic zones as well as information and technology centers and parks.

There were also 18 expansion projects from economic zone developers last year.

Some 3,780 foreign and local firms located in these ecozones employ 1.32 million workers.

Plaza said PEZA was also eyeing new types of ecozones to be developed under her administration, which include defense industrial economic zones, agro-forestry ecozones, and island-city ecozones.

She added that PEZA was looking at investors and developers from Middle East, Europe, and other Asian countries to establish new economic zones in the country.

PEZA also targets more ecozones in the countryside to spur development outside Metro Manila.

Source: Philippines News Agency