14 senators sign resolution backing Sotto’s leadership

MANILA At least 14 senators have signed a resolution expressing support for the leadership of Senate President Vicente Sotto III in the upcoming 18th Congress.

During Monday's plenary session, Senator Manny Pacquiao said the senators who signed the manifesto include himself, Senators Gringo Honasan, Panfilo Lacson, Grace Poe, Loren Legarda, Sherwin Gatchalian, Francis Escudero, Aquilino Pimentel III, Nancy Binay, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Sonny Angara, Joel Villanueva, and Ralph Recto.

Senator Richard Gordon has also thrown his support behind Sotto.

The resolution expressed support to the current leadership for the new Congress in order to maintain the Senate's independence and uphold its "proud tradition" of being the bastion of democracy in the country.

The resolution stated that under Sotto's leadership, the chamber has been lauded for its productivity, which resulted in the passage of significant measures, such as the Universal Health Care Act, Security of Tenure and End of "Endo" Act, amendments to the Agricultural Tariffication Act, Filipino Sign Language Act, Tax Amnesty Act, Pantawid Pamilya Pilipino Program Acct, and First Time Job Seekers Assistance Act, among others.

It also noted that Sotto obtained a 74-percent approval rating in the Pulse Asia survey last December, and under his leadership, the Senate obtained a 72-percent satisfaction rating, the highest among key government institutions.

"This is attributable to the transparency and independence displayed by the Senate on all issues presented before the upper chamber," the resolution read.

According to reports, talks of a new Senate leader arose following a tug-of-war between incumbent and incoming senators over the committee chairmanships for the new Congress.

Lacson earlier said a resolution would be routed among senators to serve as a vote of confidence in Sotto's leadership. (PNA)

Source: Philippines News Agency

Related posts