NegOr logs 19 new recoveries from Covid-19

The province of Negros Oriental has recorded 19 new recoveries from the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) at the start of the year 2021.

Assistant Provincial Health Officer, Dr. Liland Estacion, health committee chair of the province’s Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID), in a virtual press briefing Tuesday morning said that the Negros Oriental Provincial Hospital Molecular Laboratory (NOPHML) ran 302 swab tests on Dec. 30, 2020, and Jan. 2 and Jan. 4, this year.

Results returned with 242 negatives, 47 new positive Covid-19 cases, and 13 repeat swab positive infections.

The new recoveries are from Dumaguete City (eight); Sibulan (seven); Tanjay City, Pamplona, Bayawan City, and Valencia (one each).

The 47 new cases are from Dumaguete City (32); Sibulan (five); Siaton (four); San Jose (2); Guihulngan City, Bacong, Tanjay City and Zamboanguita (one each).

Estacion said all Dumaguete cases were already reported and coordinated with the City Health Office and “so it is up to the city of Dumaguete to give the details of the person (who tested) positive”.

Dumaguete City now has a community transmission with a surge of cases seen starting in early November to present, she said.

A study showed that from Nov. 1 to Jan. 3, about 51 percent of the cases in Dumaguete involved males while 49 percent were females, Estacion said.

The new cases in Negros Oriental include among others a three-month-old-baby, children aged three and seven, a front-liner, a locally stranded individual, and a business process outsourcing (BPO) employee, she said.

To date, the total number of cases in Negros Oriental is pegged at 984, broken down as follows: 782 recoveries, 174 active positive infections, and 28 deaths.

The provincial capital, Dumaguete, still leads with the highest number of active infections at 104, followed by Tanjay City (16); Sibulan (13); Siaton (10); Valencia (six); Zamboanguita (five); Amlan (four); Bayawan City and Guihulngan City (three); Bacong and San Jose (two each); Bais City, Mabinay, Manjuyod, Bindoy, Ayungon, and Dauin (one each

Source: Philippines News agency

Related posts